activeadmin cool tweaks

tweak 1: Make some column quick-editable on the index list page

1

Ok… so I want to be quickly able to edit few names, here on the same list page, something like below

2

Thats simply great!

Now it makes me quickly update any name there itself on the list page, <enter> will make it, <escape> will ignore it, and <tab> will move to the next one. awesome.

And to make it work I just need to have one line of code change

All I need to say is `editable_test_column`, and its done.

And here how it works, you will need to define a couple of things

You need to define editable_text_column, this you could place inside app/admin/lib/

Then you will need to add some javascript …

and some css stuff

Thats it.

Next, I would love to quickly alter article type say having a dropdown there to save my time

tweak 2: quick editable dropdowns on list page

6

Ohh, now this is again great!   … no? It actually updates the article type on value change. nice.

Let see the code behind

and to define `column_select`

CustomHelper is one of my helper modules that really helps me render dropdown the way I need, and provides me some nice options, one may choose to use the default rails select helpers

Then you need some javascript

done.

I do have worked out several more tweaks like toggle button for boolean column, show/hide columns on the list page, auto-populate/suggest feature for string filters, one can make use ActiveAdmin icons too, then for one of my requirements I have set up the whole custom header and a dozens of custom pages. I would easily say that ActiveAdmin is just simple and awesome, one can really customize it to the extreme, the code structure will allow you to imagine and implement a number of custom scenarios.

7 thoughts on “activeadmin cool tweaks

Leave a Reply

